Around Cook County

News and other information from Cook County

Write-in candidates for county offices must file request to have votes counted

Sat, 10/18/2014 - 9:34pm

It is far too late for a citizen to have his or her name printed on the 2014 General Election ballot. However, an individual may still run as a write-in candidate, as Chris Goettl and Jeff Kern are for the School District 166 school board.

However, for county offices there is an additional step.

Since 2008, election officials have not required to separate and count the ballots with handwritten candidate entries for county, state and federal offices. So, according to County Auditor Braidy Powers, all votes cast for write-ins will be tallied and recorded as one—unless a write-in candidate fills out a Written Request by Write-In Candidates for County Office form.

If an individual wants the votes cast in his or her name tallied, he or she must complete the form and submit it to the county auditor’s office on before October 28, 2014.

This rule applies only to candidates for county, state and federal offices. It does not apply to write-in candidates for the city, school board, or hospital board.


American Legion Auxiliary sponsors clothing drive for homeless veterans

Sat, 10/18/2014 - 9:26pm

The mission of the American Legion Auxiliary is to serve our nation’s veterans and the members of American Legion Post 413 have been troubled by the number of homeless veterans in the United States. They decided to do something to make a difference for homeless veterans in MN and Wisconsin. From now until just after Veterans Day, November 15, the Legion Auxiliary is conducting a clothing drive.

The Legion Auxiliary is teaming up with Help-A-Vet, a Minneapolis group formed to deal with the growing numbers of homeless veterans in Minneapolis.

The organization works to help homeless veterans who are not dressed appropriately for the cold winters in Minnesota and Wisconsin. The project began with volunteers giving veterans a quilt designed just for them. Quilts are still accepted, but just as—or perhaps more important—are donations of warm clothing and cold-weather gear. Help-A-Vet is seeking items such as winter boots and coats, socks, long johns, hooded sweatshirts, new men’s underwear, travel-sized toiletries, backpacks and sleeping bags.

The organizations are also expanding their mission to help veterans find jobs and housing, so monetary contributions are also welcome.

If you would like to help Post 413 Legion Auxiliary collect these necessary warm weather items, simply bring them to the American Legion lounge in Grand Marais. If you would like more information, please contact Nancy Backlund at (218) 387-1798.

Weekend News Roundup for October 18

Sat, 10/18/2014 - 9:17am

Each week the WTIP news department puts together a roundup of the weeks top news stories. Climate change, wolf populations, lynx critical habitat, and a new dog sled race…all figured in this week’s news.


Listen to the Story

Lutsen Mountain Ski Patrol training day, October 25

Fri, 10/17/2014 - 6:08pm

The Lutsen Mountain Ski Patrol is preparing for a new season, and that involves training for new and returning volunteers.  North Shore Morning host Sherrie Lindskog  spoke with veteran ski patrol member Mark Abrahamson on North Shore Morning.
National Ski Patrol at Lutsen Mountains Wants You !
Educational and Training Opportunties for all 16 years and older

  • The Patrol provdes on the mountain safety, stabalization and treatment of injuries and medical conditions, and transport to skiiers and snowboarders at Lutsen Mountains, one of the best ski areas in the Midwest.
  • Benefits: Pass benefits for the Patroller include options for additional passes or season passes for family members under the age of 18, living at home.
  • Additional benefits: include discounts and the wonderful camraderie of a great family of Patrollers. It gets you outside and on the slopes all winter.
  • The Outdoor Emergency Care Course on-line version will be starting in the next month, taught by Mark Abrahamson and National Ski Patrol instructors. Skills and scenario training will occur on the mountain this winter. In addition the Patrol has skilled trainers for ski skills and toboggan handling.
  • To learn more please consdier attending our Annual Training session "Referesher" Saturdy October 25th at the Lutsen Mounatins Main Chalet "Rosies" at 7:30 . Breakfast and lunch are on us. You will meet the Patrol and get a taste of who we are and what we do. We love doing it and you could too.!

For more information please contact Mark Abrahamson at or 218-387-1125.



Listen to the Story

WTIP’s Open House Welcomes New Volunteers

Fri, 10/17/2014 - 9:53am

WTIP North Shore Community Radio has a variety of opportunities for community members to get involved by becoming an on –air host or working behind the scenes at the local community radio station.

A new volunteer open house will take place at WTIP from 4:00 – 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 22nd. It is an opportunity to learn more about current volunteer openings at the local radio station, including public affairs program hosts and various music program hosts. WTIP staff will be on hand to discuss the opportunities, learn more about volunteer interests, and explain the process of becoming a trained host or co-host.

Volunteers are the backbone of WTIP and have helped make the station’s 16 years of service possible. Volunteering is an important and rewarding experience, through which community members can learn new skills, connect with others, and contribute to an essential community resource.

Everyone interested in becoming a volunteer or who would like to learn more about volunteer opportunities at WTIP is invited to stop by 1712 West Highway 61 between 4:00 and 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 22nd. For more information, please call the station at 387-1070 or email Matthew Brown at:  

Moose Madness hits Grand Marais

Fri, 10/17/2014 - 8:39am

Although the moose, Alces alces, is likely one of the most awkward looking animals in North America, it is also arguably one of the most beloved. Visitors come from far and wide to travel the forested roads of Northern Minnesota to try to spot the gangly creatures. Now is the best time to try to spot a moose, since it is rut season and they are on the move. But if you don’t spot a moose on your backwoods treks don’t despair.

The Moose Madness Festival in Cook County, Friday – Sunday, October 17 -19, celebrates the elusive behemoths with a great variety of fun family activities.

“Moose Central” is in downtown Grand Marais—in the newly renovated Cook County Tourist Information Center at 116 West Highway 61 (next to the Grand Marais Dairy Queen.) That’s the place to stop to get all the information about all the moose themed activities taking place during Moose Madness 2014.

But the action doesn’t just take place there. All of Grand Marais and beyond gets a little mad about moose, offering moose art projects, Count-the-Moose-Droppings contests, moose story times, a moose word scavenger hunt, geocaching and letterboxing, book signings and the 4th Annual Moose Mosey on the Grand Marais waterfront.

A highlight for the little ones is a visit from the Lake Superior Zoomobile, sponsored by East Bay Suites at 2 p.m. on Friday, October 17. Meet the zoo’s outreach animals—chinchillas, hedgehogs, tortoises, snakes, bugs and birds.

Throughout the weekend, look for the Moose Madness mascot Murray. You never know where you’ll spot the friendly moose. New this year is Moose-A-Zumba under the tent in Harbor Park. You will see Murray there, showing off his “mooooves” with the Cook County YMCA.

Don’t miss the madness. Check out the full list of activities and schedule at