1st and 2nd Thrift Store will be open later today to Celebrate First Friday

We,will be open til at least 5:30 or longer. Check for Specials:



CONTACT: Lois jJohnson
PHONE: 387-1826
DATE: 07/01/2016 02:38pm

Cook County Higher Education Closed in Observance of Independence Day

Cook County Higher Education offices will be closed on Monday, July 4th 2016 in observance of Independence Day. Regular office hours will resume at 9 A.M. on Tuesday, July 5th.

Thank you for understanding.



CONTACT: Cook County Higher Education
PHONE: 218-387-3411
DATE: 07/01/2016 02:36pm

4th of July Festivities in Cook County

Please see the attached flyer for a schedule of 4th of July festivities! 



CONTACT: Katie Krantz
PHONE: 218-387-2788
DATE: 07/01/2016 02:26pm

Cherry china cabinet for sale

Solid cherry china cabinet by Willett, fine furniture maker of Louisville, Ky. Very good condition. Transitional style, 1950's vintage. Bottom 46x18x31 high; top is 42x11 1/2x35 1/2. Overall height 66 1/2. Two glass doors and glass for top of cabinet included. $500.00. Photos available via email.



CONTACT: Bill
PHONE: 218-370-1003
DATE: 07/01/2016 02:10pm

Cherry china cabinet for sale

Solid cherry china cabinet by Willett, fine furniture maker of Louisville, Ky. Very good condition. Transitional style, 1950's vintage. Bottom 46x18x31 high; top is 42x11 1/2x35 i/2. Overall height 66 1/2. Two glass doors and glass for top of cabinet included. $500.00.



CONTACT: Bill
PHONE: 218-370-1003
DATE: 07/01/2016 02:09pm

Tofte 4th of July Schedule of Events!

Tofte 4th of July Celebration Schedul of Events



CONTACT: Brooke Youngdahl
PHONE: 2183874433
DATE: 07/01/2016 01:54pm

Asus Chromebook for sale

ASUS Chromebook model C300MA, 13.3 Inch screen with a resolution of 1366 x 768, (Intel Celeron, 2 GB, 16GB SSD, Black) with HDMI port and full SD card slot. All day battery life (10 hours), Larger touchpad, Ultra-thin and light, High-quality audio, Free Chrome apps. Solid state memory allows it to boot up fast and open web pages quickly. Did a factory reset so it is the same if you just received it from Amazon. I purchased this Chromebook from Amazon and the present price is $198.00. Customer reviews rate this Chromebook at 4.0 out of 5 stars. Will sell for $100.00 and that includes a carrying sleeve with a pocket for the power supply. Reply by e-mail only (no phone calls please).



CONTACT: Richard Fields
DATE: 07/01/2016 12:55pm

ASUS 10.1-Inch 32 GB Tablet (Blue)

Powerful, Full HD Entertainment 

ASUS MeMO Pad™ FHD 10 delivers vivid visuals thanks to the latest Intel® Atom™ Z2560 processor (1.6GHz) and a 178° wide view angle, 1920 x 1200 Full HD IPS display. 

BEAUTY 

With a three-dimensional micro weave back cover and a Full HD 1920 x 1200 display, the ASUS MeMO Pad™ FHD 10 is a device you'll want to show off. 

SOUND 

The ASUS MeMO Pad™ FHD 10 delivers rich audio through stereo speakers with ASUS-exclusive Sonic Master audio technology. These metal speakers feature large resonance chambers for enhanced volume, audio fidelity and balance. 

Aspect ratio 16:10, Back-light Technology LED, Bluetooth, Micro SD card slot, 32 GB of flash memory, Color blue, 10-hour battery life, Android operating system, dual core processor, touch screen, web cam, Dual camera 5 MP auto focus rear camera with 100 picture continuous burst shooting and 1080P video recording, Wireless LAN Standard 11a/b/g/n,   

Amazon Price: $219.70 for the 16 GB model.  This Asus Tablet is 32 GB model.  Did a factory reset so this is the same as receiving the tablet from Amazon.  Asking $125.00.  Respond by e-mail only (No phone calls please).



CONTACT: Richard Fields
DATE: 07/01/2016 12:49pm

Cook County Whole Foods CO-OP

Date: 
07/01/2016
Special: 
Soups Of The Day

Vegetarian Minestrone, White Chicken Chili, Cream Of Broccoli. Enjoy!

Commissioner exits public meeting in protest of 'social justice issue'

Fri, 07/01/2016 - 11:56am
feedsetimg.jpeg

Cook County Commissioner Frank Moe abruptly left a public meeting on Tuesday, June 28. The reason Moe walked out is that he claims the east end of Cook County is overlooked when it comes to local housing projects and other issues related to his district.

WTIP’s Joe Friedrichs reports on this story.

To watch Moe exit the joint meeting of the Cook County Commissioners and the local EDA, click here. 
 

Listen: 

Attention all Readers

Attention all Readers, young and old

The Little Free Library on 103 3rd Av. West is full of new books!  New board books and picture books for the young  and young at heart.  For the early chapter readers, we are so happy to announce that Beverly Cleary books are back in print!!  Come by and check out Henry Huggins, Henry and Ribsy, Ribsey,  and Socks.  And when these are gone, there will be more titles from Henry and his friends.

We are very pleased to announce that we now have the Magic Treehouse books from number 25 to 54!   Check out one or all four of numbers 25-29.  When these are gone, we will be happy to stock some more.

For the 5th to 7th grade readers, we have the trilogy of The Rats of NIMH.  If you have never read any of these, you are in for a real treat.  And a new title, From the Mixed up File of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, is in the box as well.

For the teens, there is a good selection of sci-fi, high school angst, and a new book in the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Lucy in the Sky.  Definitely worth reading.

We hope you a good reading holiday weekend.  And, as always, donations are very much appreciated.

 

 



CONTACT: Lynn Arnold
PHONE: 218-387-2284
DATE: 07/01/2016 11:20am

Cascade Restaurant and Pub

Date: 
07/05/2016
Special: 
BURGER NIGHT- 1/2 PRICE FROM 6-8PM! Hand-crafted burgers from beef to veggie burgers!

Yippee..... Burger night!  Come on in for 1/2 price amazing burgers!!!  6-8pm! (sorry, no take out at this price!)

Happy Hour is 3-6pm with 1/2 price appetizers and drink specials.

Homemade greatness at reasonable prices!

We are located between Grand Marais and Lutsen and overlook Lake Superior!  Easy to find!

3719 W. Highway 61 , Lutsen

387-2911

Cascade Restaurant and Pub

Date: 
07/04/2016
Special: 
Happy 4th! Relax & let us cook! Breakfast 'til 2pm, Lunch served all day, Dinner entrees start at 4! Happy Hour 3-6pm!

Best Happy Hour around with 1/2 price appetizers and drink specials.

3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen

387-2911

Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais and overlooking Lake Superior!!

Come on out for homemade food at reasonable prices!

Naniboujou Lodge & Restaurant - Just 15 miles from Grand Marais on Hwy 61

Date: 
07/01/2016
Special: 
Blackened Fish with Fresh Lime Crema
Resized DR.jpg

Fish fillet of your choice, blackened and topped with homemade fresh lime crema. Served with Wild Rice pilaf and seasonal vegetables.

Salmon $25

Whitefish $22

Dinner is served from 5:30 – 8 PM each evening and reservations are recommended for parties of 5 or more by calling 218.387.2688.

Also Daily Serving:

Breakfast 8 - 10:30AM

Lunch 11:30AM - 4PM

Afternoon Tea 2:30 – 4:30PM

Naniboujou Lodge is located near mile marker 124 on Hwy 61 and is just 15 miles from Grand Marais (and 20 miles from the Canadian border).